Foodie

A Twist on Shepherds Pie GF

This post may be a little bit rough because I had not planned on blogging about this meal but it was just so delicious that I had to share!

Growing up in South Africa, Shepherd’s Pie was always a staple in our family! I decided to try and make it a little bit more healthy and gluten free. The idea just popped in my head one day and I was a little unsure about the combination, but wow did this turn out yummy!

I don’t have 100% perfect measurements I don’t usually cook that way so I will try my best!

20140131-185636.jpg

20140131-185644.jpg

20140131-185652.jpg

1T olive oil
1lb ground turkey
1/2 onion chopped
1 cup of mixed veggies (this is an estimate, just put what you like)
1 sachet of simply organics roast chicken gravy (pic above)
1 cup of water
2 cans of sweet potato (you can sub baked sweet potato)

Preheat the oven to 350
In a sauté pan put the olive oil and cook the onion just a little bit. Then add the ground turkey until all the way cooked through. Add the sachet of gravy with 1 cup of water and cook until thickened just a couple minutes. Now add the veggies.
I heated the canned sweet potatoes then poured the excess juice out and mashed them. If you use baked sweet potato that will work as well, just bake and mash.
In an oven safe dish put the ground turkey mixture all over the bottom, then place the mashed sweet potato on top. Bake for 15-20 min!

It’s so simple, so easy and so delicious! The hardest part was leaving some for my husband to eat when he gets home!!!

I would say this only serves about two.

Love K

1 thought on “A Twist on Shepherds Pie GF”

  1. Hiyer!! I know you’re a gluten freer (or I’ve been told you are!). I’m doing some market business research surrounding gluten free products available and your gluten free journey. I’d love it if you could take a couple of minutes to fill out my survey to help me start my gluten free revolution! If you could do it over the next couple of days that would be smashing. Just follow the link here….. https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/XZ8RRVQ If you know of anyone else who is a gluten freer, I’d love it if you could forward this on to them aswell. Thanks. Horts xx

Leave a Reply

