“Quin-Bomb”

We are trying to be healthier as a family, and make better food choices.  But not all healthy foods taste good.  The first time we ever made Quinoa I wasnt impressed at all, and quite frankly wasnt sure what all the fuss was about.

Quinoa is perhaps one of the most perfect non-animal sources of protein on the planet. What makes quinoa unique is that it is the only plant based source of complete protein. “Complete” means that it contains all 9 of the essential amino acids that are crucial to human function and health

A couple nights ago I decided to make it again, but a little different.  I made it the way I usually make my risotto!

I chopped up one onion, and 3 cloves of garlic.  Sauteed it in olive oil until it was almost transparent.  Then I threw in two cups of quinoa and mixed it up then added four cups of chicken broth.  Bring it to a boil, then simmer for about 20 minutes.

It was delicious!  Or has my husband would say it was the “Quin-bomb.”

Image

 

Love, K

Leave a Reply

