Ibecrafty

Texas Rangers Dress from a Tshirt

My husband and I are HUGE Texas Rangers Fans! I saw this idea on Pinterest and there a few people making these and selling them on the internet. I have been wanting to purchase one to wear at a game, but then decided maybe I could make one myself.

I searched the internet for a couple different tutorials, and all were a little different. So I just kind of hodge podged them together.

I went to Wal-Mart and purchased a shirt, and a couple of things like thread and elastic. Then I went to Hobby Lobby for the trim for the bottom of the dress.

I bought an XLarge Mens Shirt.  Actually to be completely honest, I bought two one for me and one for my husband, but the first round of trying to do this I messed up and had to steal my hubby’s shirt to start over!  I cut off the sleeves and the collar.  The first one I tried I ended up cutting the name off on the back, and I wanted the name to show, so that’s why I started over.

After the first messed up shirt, my frustration level was at an all time high, and I almost gave up, so that’s why there are no more pictures from this point!

I just sewed down the sides of the dress and kept trying it on and sewing more until it fit properly.  Then on the top I folded the seam over a 1/2 inch and sewed all the way around but leaving a small opening to pull the elastic through.  Then I sewed the elastic together and sewed the whole back up.

Next I sewed the hemline and attached the ruffle on the bottom.

Here is the finished product!  It’s not perfect by any means, and was still a little tight and short for my liking!

And here is what the back looked like:

What do you think??

Tip Junkie handmade projects

4 thoughts on “Texas Rangers Dress from a Tshirt”

  1. Love this idea thanks for your tutorial I just need to brush up on my sewing first before I try this

Leave a Reply

