Recycled Crayons!

I have got to the point with my girls, that I dont even want to buy them crayons anymore!

My girls are real little artists and they love to color and draw, but everytime they get out the crayons they end up all over the house, they get stepped on, broken and lost.  So we have tons of little pieces of crayons EVERYWHERE.

One day while my girls were gone to their dads for the weekend, I got together all the crayons I could find.  I saw this project idea on Pinterest.

It was actaully very easy, the worst part was sitting down and trying to peel off all the paper!

Took off all the pieces of paper, and broke the crayons into smaller pieces

The only part I would change if I do this again, is to find cuter shaped muffin tins, or cookie pans.  All I had were the regular boring circle shaped, but thats ok it still worked!

I sprayed the tins with Pam, so that they would come out easier after they dried.  Set the oven to 325F, keep an eye on them because you dont want the wax to start burning.  I left them in the oven for about 10-15 min.

This is how they looked when I took them out the oven.  After they cooled down a little bit, I put the whole pan in the freezer (sounds crazy but makes them come out much easier)

I left them in the freezer for about 10 min.  Then when I pulled them out, I just flipped the pan and they fell right out

And there you go, brand new crayons!  My girls love them, because they are multicolored!

Leave a Reply

